The Orphan’s Tale: A Novel

A New York Times bestseller! “Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. ” —Library Journal “Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion…. I read this novel in a headlong rush.” —Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train A powerful novel of friendship

A New York Times bestseller!

“Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. ” —Library Journal

“Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion…. I read this novel in a headlong rush.” —Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan’s Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival 

Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep… When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night. 

Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another—or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.

Comments

SUSAN PETERSON says:

Original and riveting I just finished this book, and as I wipe away my tears I have to tell you that this is an original, riveting story about courage, love, friendship, and family. A while back, someone asked if there were too many books written about WWII, and my answer was no….there are millions of stories to tell. The Orphan’s Tale is a great example of this, telling a story about events and acts of bravery that I knew nothing about. In this masterful tale, Astrid is an aerialist whose family had owned a circus in Germany; but her family was Jewish, and had disappeared when she returned home after being cast aside by her husband, a German officer. Noa is a young girl whose single act of bravery leads her to the circus, an uncommon but welcome refuge for her. This story is told with such passion and enormous heart, with pulse-pounding suspense as Astrid, Noa, and the rest of their circus friends are under constant threat of the Nazis. I highly recommend this book to all book lovers; it is sure to…

Sue R. Fernandez says:

My favorite of the year I go through several books a week. As soon as I finish one, I am ready with the next. The Orphan’s Tale made me stop, wait, think and want to absorb it before I went on to the next book. I’ll admit I am interested in books about WWII and oddly, about historic circus life. This was a fascinating blend of the two, so I was in heaven! This is a book I wish I’d written…the writing, the plot, the characters…I didn’t want it to end. Do yourself a favor and read this one.

teachlz says:

Hope, Faith and Love I would like to thank the Publishers, HarperCollins, Mira, and Harlequin Enterprises Limited, as well as Pam Jenoff for the Advanced Reader’s Edition of “The Orphan’s Tale” by Pam Jenoff. 

Comments are disabled for this post.